Family: a much needed tonic on a weary day

Today I received yet another rejection letter. The lot of a novice writer yes but still hard to read those words again! I was all ready to throw myself a pity party – I figured it was well deserved as I’m battling a cold as well and generally feeling miserable.  Then my daughter called out to me. She wanted me to read her a story. She smiled when she saw me and giggled as I read. Is there anything more heart warming than a toddler’s giggle? We tucked ourselves up in my big bed and read stories as the rain battered at the window. It was a tonic much needed for my weary heart.

Later my husband, sensing my mood, gave me a hug and whispered in my ear that he is very proud of me. No matter the rejections he believed my story worthy of success. It was a soothing balm to my wounded soul. I began to feel a little lighter. After all there will always be a special little group in this world who will never reject me, who will always applaud me, who will stand at the sidelines cheering my name. My family.

I realised I am lucky to have such a supportive family. Not only my little family of three but my parents, siblings and aunt as well. They boost me back up when I tend too much to put myself down. They are there to take the sting out of a rejection and put a smile on the hardest of days. Yet I must remember, that as much as I rely on them, I must too have faith in myself. No-one else will believe in me (outside of family) if I don’t believe in myself. This is my mantra; everyday I must remind myself to believe. Some days that can be much harder than others. That is when family take it upon themselves to row in and lend me an oar (or two). That way I can’t drift too far into maudlin waters.

Family; they are certainly a necessity for a budding writer like me as much as the endless cups of coffee and trusty laptop. I would surely be lost at sea without them.

Leave a comment